Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Plodding on seven years later, I often wonder if our little Minster Munch knows that his harness wearing days will not be forever. Our working life together will cease  anytime within the next 21 months when he will have to retire. I, on the other hand, have a mere 21 years until I retire. It is a possibility that I could be matched with 3 more Guide Dogs in my working life, each one bringing their own quirks and perks. 

Revisiting my naivety of what I thought life with a Guide Dog would be like always makes me cackle and cringe in equal measure. Firstly, I thought life changes would be subtle, my Guide Dog would listen at all times, and I would never have  to apologise for our behaviours. Hmmmm, that didn’t go quite to plan. From day one together, everyone noticed the unusual Shetland pony sized Guide Dog that appeared in our relatively small town. Minster Munch made it clear that he only completed his 20 months of training  to be able to become my master and train me into conformity via his cuteness. His behaviour throughout our time together can be categorised anywhere between attention seeking and driven, but always professional when in work mode.

I was asked this week by a 6 year old client if Munch knew if he was a Guide Dog and not a pet dog? I flummoxed an incoherent answer back, stating that “I think he just thinks he is just Munch, and when he puts his harness on, he just does Guide Dog stuff”. On reflection, I think this is truer than I originally thought. Munch, in all honesty believes everyone is his friend (or sometimes staff member), has unconditional love for every species, and is free spirited enough to be in love with living life his own innocent way. A human concept of a dog can never truly honour their ability to innately help and enhance the lives of those around them.

We are due for a review in the next couple of weeks to see how  our partnership is getting on and how our little Munch is doing in his Guide Dog role. He will be checked over more regularly by the vets from now on to see how his health is doing, and I will be closely monitoring his energy levels and eagerness as he slips into his work harness daily. At the age of nine, his younger doggy friends are beginning to run a little faster than him as his paws pound the ground during free runs, but each day, he still shows up wanting to play. Focusing on the beauty of the now. Munch is being as Munchish as ever, which I am eternally grateful for. Nothing lasts forever, but now is good enough for us